Electronic shifters for bicycles?

I should start a category called “fresh”, for things that I neither need now nor can ever, in a million years, imagine needing, but which are just so… fresh. Like Shimano’s new electronic Dura-Ace system; about time fly-by-wire came to bicycles, and it’s actually lighter than standard Dura-Ace? See? Fresh. Now, when I build my ultimate beach cruiser, I’m hella going to want electronic shifting for the internal 8-speed hub on my ULTIMATE LOW-RIDER RECUMBENT CRUISER PLAYA BIKE that I’ll never build. Hey, since I probably won’t ever build it who cares if the things I want don’t exist. It’s like the childhood dreamhouse with the pool filled with ice cream in every room: not feasible, necessarily, but don’t let that stop you.

If I do get a new road bike, of course, I’d like to get a fixed gear, because I’m just hip like that. I’m sure as hell not putting no Dura-Ace on the Pinarello.

One Comment

  1. ari
    Posted August 7, 2008 at 10:30 pm | Permalink

    It makes me sad that you don’t have a chrome fork or rear triangle. But that’s just silly, because yours is even more classic.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

